top of page

Stuck Xiphoid

Updated: Dec 28, 2020

A year ago, I published ‘Dead Ribs‘, documenting the neglect of my ribcage in favor of my pelvis.  Other than examining lateral movement, the breakthrough there was that to open the ribs I could lengthen through the front rather than shorten through the back.  Extension came through two primary means: 1.  Dropping the pelvis into anterior tilt, and 2.  Depressing and/or retracting the shoulder blades.  I did not understand the lift and forward push of the xiphoid.

Keeping contraction of the ribs and abdominals is a protective measure.  To let go is to expose.  The head drifts forward to create even more space between that area and the outside world.  I didn’t know how to load my sit bones.  When I sat my upper body either laid back upon the chair or forward onto my elbows.  Folding at the xiphoid made it a structural support — a sense of stability in which the rest of my body could relax.


When it came to breathing, I was a belly convert.  Though the origins revolve around the chicken or the egg (posture caused breathing or breathing caused posture), my ribs were stuck in a lifted position, much like a marionette.  If they sat high the normal inhale would not budge them.  Changing my intake, however, changed where the air went.  The speed forced a pressurized puffing:

If the pressure is too low (slow or large opening), the tube has compress to draw in air flow.


To assist this desired mechanism, I had to get the head to slide back:


You can see the skull oscillations start to take place once the ribs come forward.


Furthermore, without pressing out from the belly (different from just blob like release), the scapula and neck would try to maintain extension from above:

   Getting stability lower is always a good idea.


As I practiced intermittently throughout the day, during longer periods of standing, sitting, or laying, I started noticing different positional holding patterns.  Whether reprogramming how I make coffee or checking my phone during movement time, tiny shifts (chips?) were happening:



Finally, it’s beginning to click how I can USE this little bio marker to assist in my movement ambitions.  From a simple bridge adjustment to a falling start in running, I now have another reference point to check in with and assess from.




7 views0 comments

Related Posts

See All
bottom of page